THE GREAT CANADIAN CUPCAKE- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

When I think of Canadian food I think of poutine and maple syrup. Since making cupcakes that are poutine flavoured sounds more revolting than enticing and since it feels like the season for maple syrup, these Canadian cupcakes are highlighting maple, not potatoes smothered in cheese and gravy πŸ™‚

Great Canadian Cupcake

I called these cupcakes the GREAT Canadian cupcake because of how beautifully they rise. It’s the rise in baking that makes a treat fluffy, light and downright irresistible. I’m sure you can imagine my excitement when my first attempt at these cupcakes had the perfect rise. Believe me when I say that this rarely and I mean RARELY ever happens! I obviously celebrated my devouring a cupcake almost immediately….once the frosting was on it, of course.

The Great Canadian Cupcake

My favourite thing about these cupcakes, besides the texture and flavour, is the fact that there’s a hidden veggie in them. I used pumpkin puree but you could just as easily use butternut squash puree…which was actually my first idea. When I was testing these beauties though I had pumpkin puree not butternut squash puree in my fridge. Oh how my laziness affects my recipes!

Great Canadian Cupcakes

Moist, fluffy and healthy cupcakes that when smothered in maple frosting taste like the perfect Canadian treat!

Makes 8-10

Ingredients:

Cupcakes-

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup maple sugar
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp maple extract
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup

Frosting-

  • 1/4 cup Earth Balance
  • 1/4 cup maple sugar
  • 1 tsp tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and line cupcake pan with liners.
  2. In a small cup mix together unsweetened non-dairy milk and apple cider vinegar, let sit for 5-10 minutes.
  3. In a medium sized bowl mix together brown rice flour, tapioca starch, xanthan gum, sea salt, baking soda, baking powder, spices and maple sugar.
  4. In another bowl cream together pumpkin puree, unsweetened non-dairy milk and vinegar mixture, extracts and maple syrup.
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
  6. Portion batter into cupcake liners and bake for 30 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Let cupcakes cool completely while you prepare the frosting.
  8. To make the frosting add maple sugar and tapioca starch to a blender and blend for 30-45 seconds or until the sugar is powdered, set aside.
  9. Cream together the Earth Balance, maple syrup and vanilla extract with a hand mixer.
  10. Slowly add the powdered sugar and beat until frosting is fluffy.
  11. Once the cupcakes have cooled completed, top them with frosting and sprinkle with cinnamon.

xoxo Erin

You May Also Like:

Nectarine Peanut Crumble

Nectarine Peanut Crumble

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Gluten-Free Fridays, Allergy-Free WednesdaysΒ and Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

9 thoughts on “THE GREAT CANADIAN CUPCAKE- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

  1. Erin, in the frosting you have a 1/4 of maple syrup twice. Was the second 1/4 cup a mistake or did you mean 1/2 cup of maple syrup. I am looking forward to making this recipe. Thank!

Leave a Reply

