APPLE CRUMBLE MUFFINS- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free & Oil-Free

In the middle of October I went apple picking with my mom and uncle. It was the first time I’d been apple picking in a very, VERY long time. I had a blast and picked my bushel of apples in about 10-15 minutes. When I get excited about something I usually get very excited and move at an unusually quick rate. Obviously apple picking was no different. Unfortunately this excitement about the apples fizzled out quickly and I didn’t bake with the apples for a few weeks after picking. But now that I’ve started baking with them, I can’t stop! Cookies, breads, crisps, pies and of course, MUFFINS!!!

Apple Crumble Muffins

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before my love for anything with a crumble topping. The crispness, the sweetness, the contact of texture it creates, mmm yes,  love it all. The crumble on these muffins turns them from a yummy muffin to an insanely delicious and satisfying muffin. Seriously, I ate them as dessert…and breakfast…and snack. Basically I ate them every chance I got! I even made them in two different sizes so if I was only a little hungry I could still enjoy one 🙂

Muffins

Healthy Apple Crumble Muffins

Moist, healthy and soft apple muffins topped with an apple peanut butter crumble topping. 

Makes 12 large or 24 small muffins

Ingredients:

Muffins:

  • 3/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup coconut sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seed mixed with 3 tbsp water (let sit 5 minutes)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup peeled and chopped apple

Crumble Topping:

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp apple butter (or more peanut butter)

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and line muffin tin with liners (I use silicone liners).
  2. In a medium bowl mix together the first 10 muffin ingredients (dry ingredients).
  3. In a second and larger bowl mix together the remaining muffin ingredients (wet ingredients) and mix until well combined.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Portion into lined muffin tin.
  5. Mix all of the crumble topping ingredients together and cover the top of each muffin with the crumble.
  6. Bake for 20-22 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. If you’re using a small muffin tin only bake the muffins for 12-15 minutes.
  7. Let the muffins cool completely before removing from muffin liners.

xoxo Erin

You May Also Like:

Banana Nut Muffins

Banana Nut Muffins

 

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Healthy Vegan Fridays.

3 thoughts on “APPLE CRUMBLE MUFFINS- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free & Oil-Free

Leave a Reply

