HOMEMADE PUMPKIN PUREE- Vegan, Grain-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

A bonus of the timing of Canadian Thanksgiving is how it lengthens pumpkin treat season. Make pumpkin treats for Thanksgiving, make more pumpkin treats with left over Halloween pumpkin and make even more pumpkin treats when you see all the mouthwatering pins on Pinterest leading up to American Thanksgiving. Oh pumpkin, how I love you.

I love pumpkin so much that I’ve been thinking of pumpkin recipes for a while now. Unfortunately, I haven’t organized myself enough to have these recipes tested and posted like I initially planned. Ah, but such is life. At least I can say I’ve got chocolate chip pumpkin cookies in the oven as we speak. The pumpkin recipes are slowly, but surely moving out of my head and into my oven!

In preparation for all the pumpkin goodness that is to come, I thought I’d share how I prepare the star of the recipes:

Pumpkin

How to Make Your Own Pumpkin Puree

Step 1: 

Buy a pie pumpkin. This is important! Pie pumpkin is sweeter and I find it carries a deeper pumpkin flavour in baking. They’re also smaller and therefore easier to carry home from the store 🙂

Step 2: 

Cut pie pumpkin in half and remove the seeds and stringy middle. I like to separate the seeds from the stringy middle so I can make home roasted pumpkin seeds.

Step 3: 

Cup pumpkin into strips and place is steaming pot.

Ready to Cook Pumpkin

Step 4: 

Steam pumpkin until it’s fork tender. Let the pumpkin cool and peel the skin away from the flesh.

Step 6- option 1: 

Place the pumpkin flesh in a bowl and mash it with a potato masher.

Mashing Pumpkin

Step 6- option 2: 

Place the pumpkin flesh in a high power blender (I used my Vitamix) and blend until smooth. This is my preferred method because it makes the pumpkin so smooth and creamy.

Vitamix Pumpkin Puree

Store the pumpkin puree in the fridge if using it within a few days, otherwise freeze for anytime use.

So why do I bother making my own pumpkin puree when I could just buy a can from the store? Well, I bought my pie pumpkin for $1.25 and I made about 4 cups of pumpkin puree with it. Homemade pumpkin puree is not only way cheaper than buying canned puree, it’s also free of BPA (Bisphenol-A) and all those other nasty chemicals hiding in those cans. And lets not forget about flavour, nothing beats fresh pumpkin.

Mmmm pumpkin….

xoxo Erin

You Might Also Like:

Pumpkin Pecan Chocolate Chip Muffins

          Pecan Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins- Ready to Enjoy!

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Gluten-Free Fridays.

5 thoughts on “HOMEMADE PUMPKIN PUREE- Vegan, Grain-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

  1. I would be okay with pumpkin season taking up the entire year, I think! Can’t imagine getting sick of it. Kudos to you for making your own puree! 🙂

  2. Mm, I’ve been reading so many delicious pumpkin recipes in the past few weeks (someone would think it’s fall or something!) and this puree is perfect for all of them. So delicious. Thanks! x

  3. Pingback: 5-Ingredient Mondays- Baba Ghanoush and Pistachio Butter | Sift, Stir & Savour

  4. Pingback: PUMPKIN PEAR OATMEAL- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

Leave a Reply

