BLUSHING BLUEBERRY SMOOTHIE- Vegan, Grain-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

vegan month

Apparently puppies are exhausting and time consuming. Luckily I expected no less and made sure I had lots of frozen fruits on hand to make smoothies with. I love smoothies as a meal because they are super quick to make, can be a multitude of flavours and keep me full for hours. I find if I add too much fruit to my smoothies though I get hungry rather quickly, so I like to keep a nice balance between fruits and veggies in my smoothies. With that said, if you’re newer to fruit and veggie smoothies or just like them on the sweeter side, feel free to substitute a ripe banana for the avocado. That will definitely make this smoothie sweeter. You could also always throw in a date or two to sweeten it up, or add extra blueberries.

Blushing Blueberry Smoothie

Now let’s talk about two ingredients in this smoothie that might make you say “what is that?!?”…dried hisbiscus flowers and amla powder (a.k.a. Indian Goose Berry powder). I like to add both of these amazing foods to my smoothies because of their health benefits. Check out Dr. Greger’s video here about the power of amla powder and his video about dried hibiscus flower here. I buy both alma powder and dried hibiscus flowers from a health food store. A bag of amla powder may seem expensive, but it lasts a very long time so it’s definitely worth the money- especially when you consider all the health benefits!

Blushing Blueberry Smoothie

A meal-worthy smoothie that’s packed with vitamins, nutrients and antioxidant packed superfoods.  

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen organic blueberries
  • 1 small beet, peeled
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 cups kale
  • 1/4 avocado (or 1 ripe banana)
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds
  • 1 tbsp dried hibiscus flowers
  • 1/2 tsp amla powder
  • 1- 2 cups water (depending how thick you like your smoothie)

Ingredients:

  1. Add all ingredients to a high power blender (I use my Vitamix).
  2. Blend until smooth and enjoy!

xoxo Erin

You May Also Like:

Cholesterol Conquering Smoothie

             Cholesterol Conquering Smoothie

 

Leave a Reply

