EGGPLANT CHICKPEA SALAD- Vegan, Grain-Free & Oil-Free

It’s September and time for Vegan MoFO:

400x84_g2

Basically meaning my kitchen will be a delicious mess all month long as I try to post as much as I can. I’m aiming for 20, we’ll see how I do 🙂 Check out Vegan MoFo website for more information. Lots of bloggers have picked themes, so it should be a very mouth-watering month. I decided not to pick a theme. Since it’s my first time I think trying to post daily will be enough of a challenge for me! So let’s get this show on the road and let the recipes begin!

Eggplant Chickpea Salad

I never liked eggplant. It was the one vegetable I had a hard time getting down. Initially I just avoided it, but it’s beautiful colour kept drawing me in and making me wish I liked it. How pretty it would look in so many dishes with it’s deep purple hue! And then one day I ate it, liked it and had an epiphany. It wasn’t the flavour that turned me off, it was the difference in texture between the skin and the fleshy part. Fruits and vegetables generally hold lots of nutrients in their brightly coloured skin and eggplant is no different. But just because their skins have lots of nutrients, doesn’t mean the rest of the fruit or vegetable doesn’t have any. Therefore, eating eggplant without the skin will give you more nutrients than not eating eggplant at all. And that, my friends, is how I started to enjoy eggplant- by peeling it.

If you like eggplant or if the difference in texture between the skin and the flesh doesn’t bother you than feel free not to peel the eggplant in this recipe. Either way you’re eating eggplant and your body will thank you 🙂

Healthy Eggplant Chickpea Salad

This fresh and healthy salad is filled with fresh greens, vibrant eggplant, protein packed chickpeas and a creamy citrus dressing. 

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 medium eggplant, sliced in half
  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 8 cups greens (I used spinach)
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tbsp orange or lemon juice
  • 1-2 tbsp water

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper and place eggplant cut side up.
  2. Roast eggplant for 30-40 minutes, or until it is fork tender and set it aside.
  3. Steam broccoli and add them to a large mixing bowl with the chickpeas.
  4. Steam greens and add them to the bowl as well.
  5. Blend tahini, juice and water in a small blender (I used my Magic Bullet) and pour over the broccoli, chickpea and greens.
  6. The eggplant should be cool enough to handle by now so you can peel off the skin, if you so desire.
  7. Cut the eggplant into cubes and add it to the mixing bowl.
  8. Mix the salad so all veggies are covered. Feel free to double the salad dressing ingredients if you like your salads more dressed.
  9. Top with hemp seeds and serve.

Eggplant and Chickpea Salad

xoxo Erin

You Might Also Like:

Brussel Sprouts with Deconstructed Hummus

                     Brussel Sprouts with Deconstructed Hummus

 

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Wellness Weekend.

2 thoughts on “EGGPLANT CHICKPEA SALAD- Vegan, Grain-Free & Oil-Free

  1. Pingback: QUINOA GARDEN SALAD- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

Leave a Reply

