OATMEAL ON THE GO- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

When I’m traveling breakfast is my favourite meal to make myself. I usually wake up starving so I enjoy being able to hush my stomach growls sooner rather than later. Making my own breakfast is also a simple and delicious way to save money. On my most recent vacation I packed only single plain oatmeal packages to make my breakfast with. Boring, I know, but I didn’t want to use up precious suitcase room on food.

Turns out you can easily transform plain oats into a delicious breakfast with minimal ingredients!

Tea Flavoured Oatmeal

Healthy Tea Flavoured Oatmeal

A travel friendly breakfast that will satisfy your tastebuds and give you the energy you need for an abroad adventure!

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 single package gluten-free oatmeal (or 1/2 cup instant oats)
  • 1/4- 1/3 cup hot water (use less water for thicker oatmeal, more water for runnier oatmeal)
  • 1 tea bag, any flavour (I used peach mango herbal tea in picture above)
  • 1 serving fruit (I used banana in picture above)

Instructions:

  1. Steep tea in hot water for 2-5 minutes, depending on how strong of tea flavour you like.
  2. Add dry oats to a bowl/container and slowly add the steeped tea. Make sure to stir the oats with every little bit you add. Add just enough steeped tea to achieve your desired oatmeal consistency.
  3. Add sliced fruit and dig in.

Oatmeal on the GoThere’s a picture of a more extravagantly topped oatmeal I made while in Stockholm, Sweden. We had a big kitchen where we were staying so we stocked up with some groceries. This Tea Flavoured Oatmeal is topped with mango and apple as the fruit as well as a mixture of nuts and dried fruits.

xoxo Erin

You May Also Like:

 Lemon Broccoli Oatmeal

Lemon Broccoli Oatmeal

4 thoughts on “OATMEAL ON THE GO- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

  1. Pingback: 5-Ingredient Mondays: Chocolate Coated PB Banana Pops, Cashew Cream & Green Mayo | Sift, Stir & Savour

Leave a Reply

