SUNFLOWER SEED “BACON” BITS- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free

I never really liked bacon, but every once in a while I would crave  it. I developed such a craving when I created my Maple “Bacon” Cupcakes. For this recipe though I used the Happy Herbivore recipe for “bacon” bits. When I recently became fixated on having a bacon treat I decided I would make my own “bacon” recipe.

And I’m pleased to say it was delicious!

Sunflower Seed Bacon BitsCrunchy,  smokey and easy as pie!

First I toasted the sunflower seeds:

Toasting Seeds

And then I added all the sugar & spice and everything nice 🙂

Seasoned Seeds

Yes, it was that easy! Literally in 5 minutes you get the healthiest darn “bacon” bits you could imagine- tasty too!

Healthy Sunflower Seed “Bacon” Bits

All  of the crunch, smokiness and flavour of bacon without all of the saturated fat and preservatives!

Serves 3 (2 tbsp per serving)

Ingredients:

  • 6 tbsp sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/8 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8- 1/4 tsp liquid smoke (depending on preference)
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp Braggs Liquid Aminos (or other gluten-free soy sauce alternative)

Instructions:

  1. Add sunflower seeds to a frying pan and toast them over medium heat. Make sure to stir them frequently to prevent sticking and/or burning.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients and stir until all of the sunflower seeds are coated.
  3. Continue to cook for 1-2 more minutes, or until desired crunch is achieved.
  4. Remove from heat and let cool in a single layer (I spread mine out over parchment paper).
  5. Enjoy them as is or add them to salads, pastas or even desserts!

Sunflower Seed Bacon Bits

Come back tomorrow and see what delicious Father’s Day treat I created with these beauties 🙂

xoxo Erin

You Might Also Like:

Oil-Free Potato Chips

Homemade Potato Chips

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Gluten-Free FridaysMeatless MondaysAllergy-Free WednesdaysWhole Food Fridays and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

16 thoughts on “SUNFLOWER SEED “BACON” BITS- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free

  1. Pingback: KING COOKIES- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free & Oil-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

  2. Pingback: 5-Ingredient Mondays: Asparagus Fries, Carrot-Ginger-Celery Soup & Spiced Roasted Almonds | Sift, Stir & Savour

  3. Made these last night…”Two thumbs up” from both my husband and me!
    These are yummy alone, or anywhere you might include bacon (I made vegan sandwiches and sprinkled these on the tomato slices in the sandwiches). Thanks for sharing this recipe–I will be making these frequently!

      • Just wanted to tell you that I think you’ve created a monster! Since we had more of these left over yesterday, we decided to repeat the sandwich dinner that we had the night before. Tonight, I decided to make a chopped salad dinner, so I QUADRUPLED this recipe to have plenty on hand beyond putting them on our salads tonight! We loved the savory crunch this added, and my husband has already requested it again, thanks in large part to these “bacon bits.” Thanks again for sharing!

  4. WOW, I am SUPER excited about this!! Can’t wait to try it! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  5. Pingback: #glutenfreefridays #45 Come share your favorite #glutenfree #recipe! Sponsored by @OBGFBaking #gf #celiac | Vegetarian Mamma

  6. We made these last night and OH. MY. GOODNESS!!!! SO good! If you don’t mind, I’d like to blog about your recipe?!?

  7. Pingback: Sunflower Seed “Bacon” Bits | Holy Shilajit

  8. Pingback: Sunflower Seed “Bacon” Bits - gluten free, healthy, vegan, vegetarian - FoodSniffr Blog

Leave a Reply

