PEANUT BUTTER BANANA CHOCOLATE BITES- Vegan & Grain-Free

Last week I was on vacation, the Outer Banks in North Carolina to be exact:

Beach

I went with my best friend (Emily) and some of her family. It was the fourth time I’ve gone with them and have loved it every time. The week was perfectly relaxing and filled with lots of sunshine, food, good company and of course a beautiful beach!

Beach

I love the big staircases that bring you to the beach! Walking down them makes me feel like I’m in some type of  Nicholas Sparks movie. And though I do not particularly care for the movies based on his books (other than The Notebook, of course), I do generally enjoy his books…and apparently the feeling that I’m in one of his stories!

The highlight of my vacation though was definitely when Em and I rode our bikes to a local coffee shop 30 kilometers away and then biked 30 kilometers back with iced soy lattes in hand! It took us just over an hour each way, which we were pretty proud of seeing that we were riding old school bikes where you break by pedalling backwards. And yes, my iced soy latte wasn’t really “iced” when I got back, but it was still delicious 🙂

The other highlight of the trip was when we went paddle boarding. I got on the board without much trouble and thought I was amazing as I started to paddle away…until I heard Em howling with laughter in the background and realized I had paddled past the barriers and into the designated fishing area. I can only imagine how ridiculous I looked, paddling like I was a queen but oblivious to my surroundings, haha. Luckily I managed to get out of that area without  any fish-hooks attached to me and then joined Em in howling with laughter.

Here’s us on the way to paddle boarding. You can’t tell but we have 4 boards strapped to the top of the car!

Paddle Boarding

Of course all of the sun and activity made us hungry! One night after dinner we created some Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Bites for everyone to enjoy. I had seen many similar treats on Pinterest and thought they looked simple and delicious. Unfortunately when we made them, they looked more simple and less delicious:

Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Bites

In hindsight, I should have made this photo into one of those “nailed it” photos because boy, do these treats ever look like a mess, haha. Don’t let their sloppy appearance fool you though, these bite sized desserts are heavenly! And if you don’t care about presentation, they’re super easy to throw together too!

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Bites

Creamy frozen banana pieces covered in savoury peanut butter and drizzled with rich chocolate. The perfect summer treat to cool you from the heat!

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 2 large ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup all natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup dairy-free chocolate chips (or homemade chocolate)

Instructions:

  1. Slice bananas and place them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Place in freezer for 30-60 minutes.
  2. Once the banana slices are frozen, cover each banana slice with a dollop of peanut butter.
  3. Melt chocolate chips and drizzle chocolate on top of the peanut butter.
  4. Place Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Bites back in the freezer for 30 minutes, or until ready to serve

Easy and delicious- my kind of treat 🙂

xoxo Erin

You May Also Like:

Multi-Grain Sunshine Bars

Multi-Grain Sunshine Bar

UPDATE! This recipe has been submitted to Real Food Wednesdays and Wellness Weekend.

10 thoughts on “PEANUT BUTTER BANANA CHOCOLATE BITES- Vegan & Grain-Free

  1. Yum, these sound delicious! I love pureeing frozen bananas for smoothies but I’ve never thought of freezing pieces with peanut butter and chocolate (awesome combo) to stay cool in Summer! Thanks for the delicious idea (and great photos of your beach trip!) x

  2. Pingback: 5-Ingredient Mondays (Watercress Soup, Sunflower Seed Hummus & Orange Julius Kale Salad) | Sift, Stir & Savour

  3. Pingback: RAW NUT-FREE PORRIDGE- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

  4. Pinning this. Might need it’s own board called “Healthy Treats to Make NOW”. Wow that sounds good. So glad you had a great time! Beach and friends…how could you not?

  5. Pingback: RAW FOOD THURSDAYS: 7/4/13 | Sift, Stir & Savour

  6. Pingback: FROZEN CHOCOLATE CHIP PRETZEL BITES- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

Leave a Reply

