POTATO LEEK SOUP- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free & Oil-Free

On Mothers Day my family made dinner for my mom. It was lovely. One of my contributions was a Rosemary Potato and Leek Pie…however, it turned out to just be a Rosemary Potato Pie because after I finished assembling it, I noticed the leeks were still sitting on my counter.

I do this a lot. So much that whenever I cook at my parents house my mom hovers a bit and asks me frequently if I’m following the recipe. I rarely am- she knows me so well. But on Mothers Day my mom trusted that I would follow the recipe. Big mistake. I should also mention that whenever I forget an ingredient or make a mistake with a recipe my reaction is to laugh, a lot. My mom is aware that this is my reaction. So when she heard me laughing from the kitchen, she knew something was going to be missing.

Lucky my mom is a very supportive woman and joins in the laughing before trying to create a teachable moment out of it. Too bad the joy I get from messing up a recipe is too strong of a positive reinforcement for her teachable moment to actually affect my behaviour.

ANYWAY, because I left the leek out of that recipe I had 3 big leeks to do something with. Luckily organic potatoes were on sale and this soup was born:

Potato Leek Soup

Oil-Free Potato Leek Soup

Creamy and savoury soup that will fill your belly and warm your soul. 

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 rib celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 leeks, chopped (white and light green parts only)
  • 2 lb russett potatoes, cubed
  • 4 cups gluten-free vegetable broth
  • 1-2 cups water
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley

Instructions:

  1. Add chopped carrots, celery and minced garlic to a large pot, along with a splash of water. 
  2. Saute over medium heat for 2-3 minutes and then add the chopped leeks and thyme. Continue cooking until the leeks soften.
  3. Add the veggie broth, 1 cup water, chopped potatoes and ground black pepper.
  4. Bring to a gentle boil, reduce heat to low and cover to simmer for 2o minutes or until potatoes are soft.
  5. Remove from heat and use an immersion blender to blend the soup. Add the extra cup of water if the soup is too thick. I roughly blended the soup so some chunks of potato remained.
  6. Stir in the fresh parsley before portioning the soup into bowls.

Potato Leek Soup

xoxo Erin

You May Also Like:

  30 Minute Minestrone                                                Cream of Chickpea Soup

30 Minute Minestrone Soup                                                 Bowl of Cream of Chickpea Soup

UPDATE! This recipe has been submitted to Simple Meals FridayFull Plate ThursdaysHealthy Vegan Fridays and Whole Food Fridays.

3 thoughts on “POTATO LEEK SOUP- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free & Oil-Free

  1. Hi Erin,
    This Potato Leek Soup will be delicious. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and have a fabulous weekend.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

