TEX MEX RICE BOWL- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free

Leftovers- some people love them, while others hate them. I personally like them. I like them because I frequently use them to create another dish with. For example, the other day I made a full batch of my Garlic Mac and “Cheese”. I knew I wouldn’t want to eat left over mac and cheese though, so I only cooked one portion of pasta and saved the left over “cheese” sauce. The next day when I looked in my fridge I found black beans and cooked red rice (in addition to my left over “cheese” sauce). A bit deeper in my fridge I found a jar of salsa. Mmmm, salsa! So I threw it all together, added a few extras and came up with this delicious and satisfying meal:

Tex Mex Rice Bowl

Super Healthy Tex Mex Rice Bowl

This cheesy and spicy rice bowl makes a nutritious meal that’s easy to pack and eat on the go!

Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn, defrosted
  • 2 cups cooked red rice (or brown rice)
  • 1 cup black beans
  • 1 cup “cheese” sauce
  • 1/2 cup salsa

Instructions:

  1. Add diced onion to a frying pan with a splash of water or vegetable broth. Saute for 1 minute and then add minced garlic. Cook for 2-3 more minutes, or until the onion is soft. 
  2. Add the broccoli and cook just until the broccoli begins to turn brighter green.
  3. Add the corn, rice, beans, “cheese” sauce and salsa and continue to cook until the dish is heated throughout.
  4. Grab a fork and dig right in!

xoxo Erin

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Wellness WeekendMy Meatless Mondays and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

One thought on “TEX MEX RICE BOWL- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free

Leave a Reply

