CHOCOLATE CHIP SANDWICH COOKIES- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free & Oil-Free

The other week at work we had a retirement party for one of the lovely nurses. Retirement party = potluck, and yes I love potlucks. Even though there usually aren’t too many things I can try, I love the opportunity to create something and test it on a group of unsuspecting consumers. I also like them because I usually experiment with something more decadent than normal. After all, I have a WHOLE group of people to share with 🙂

For this potluck though I was a tad stressed out because it was the week before my partner was having knee reconstructive surgery for a torn ACL and meniscus. Without the energy to experiment and create a new recipe, I decided I would merge two of my previous recipes. I got my inspiration from a treat I enjoyed from Kelly’s Bake Shoppe:

Kelly's Bake Shoppe

In case you were wondering, that’s a GIANT snickerdoodle sandwich cookie (vanilla frosting in middle). And yes, it was almost as big as my face and yes, I ate it all…Every. Last. Crumb.

With sweet memories of that treat in my head, I decided to make Chocolate Chip Sandwich Cookies:

Chocolate Chip Sandwich Cookies

Chocolate Chip Sandwich Cookies

Rich chocolate frosting sandwiched between two chewy chocolate chip cookies. Chocolate heaven!

Serves 12

Ingredients:

Instructions:

  1. Bake cookies according to recipe directions and let cool completely. 
  2. Prepare chocolate frosting according to recipe directions. Let chill in fridge for at least an hour, overnight is best.
  3. Cover the bottom of half of the cookies with icing and top with another cookie.
  4. Chill in fridge for at least an hour and then dig right in 🙂

Chocolate Chip Sandwich Cookies

Mmm, chocolate frosting!

Chocolate Chip Sandwich Cookies

xoxo Erin

You Might Also Like:

Instant Chocolate Chip Cookie Cup

          Instant Chocolate Chip Cookie

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Allergy-Free WednesdaysFull Plate ThursdaysHealthy Vegan Fridays and Wonderful Food Wednesdays.

5 thoughts on “CHOCOLATE CHIP SANDWICH COOKIES- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free & Oil-Free

  1. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing issues with your website.

    It appears like some of the text within your content are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please comment and let me know
    if this is happening to them too? This might be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Appreciate it

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you have a very special Mothers Day Weekend and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

