MULTI-GRAIN SUNSHINE BARS & WIAW- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free & Oil-Free

It’s that time again! What I Ate Wednesday…or in my case, Sunday. My day started off with a banana before heading to the gym for a spin class, after which I savoured a Multi-Grain Sunshine Bar (recipe to follow) for breakfast. Within a couple hours of eating breakfast I was hungry again so I baked a potato, topped it with some shredded vegan cheese, salsa and nutritional yeast and paired it with raw cauliflower for lunch:

Lunch

After lunch I did some grocery shopping and then prepped some food for the week. I like to soak and cook beans, cook some grains and wash and cut a bunch of veggies. For me, preparation is key. If I don’t have a variety of healthy food ready and waiting for me in my fridge, all bets are off. It does take me a couple hours to prep food for the week, but I figure it’s a couple hours well spent. Prepped food means I will eat what makes me feel good and have the energy to accomplish whatever I desire. After all my prepping I was hungry again, so I threw together an Apple Snack Bowl. It consisted of a small sliced gala apple, 1/2 cup almond milk yogurt, 1 tbsp hemp seeds, 1/2 tbsp almond butter, 1 tsp Ceylon cinnamon:

Apple Snack Bowl

After my snack it was time for more shopping, but this time for rain boots. I really don’t like shopping, unless it’s for food or cooking supplies, so I’ve been putting off rain boot shopping for weeks. Finally motivated by the rainy weather forecast, I was on a mission! Luckily I found a pair at the first store I went to, awesome!

Then it was time for snack # 2: Peanut Butter Banana Cereal Bowl: 1 mashed banana, 1/2 tbsp peanut butter, 2 tbsp raisins, 1 cup gluten-free and fruit juice sweetened corn flakes.

Cereal Snack Bowl

And then my day went downhill. My shoulder- which I injured years ago, started to act up and I got a major headache from the tightening muscles. Uggg. I drank some ginger tea and retired to the couch for a nap. I didn’t feel much better after my nap so I did some gentle stretching and went back to the couch. I wasn’t feeling hungry because of the pain, but I managed to get down a baked sweet potato. Eventually I gave up on the day and went to sleep for the night early, really early…9:30 PM early. For the record, when I woke the next morning I felt back to normal 🙂

Now, onto the good stuff. That Multi-Grain Sunshine Bar I mentioned I ate for breakfast, well here it is:

Multi-Grain Sunshine Bar

Multi-Grain Sunshine Bars

Soft granola bar with bright citrus flavours, chewy apricots and crunchy macadamia nuts. 

Serves 12

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 6 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup quinoa flakes
  • 1/2 cup millet flakes
  • 1 cup gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free oat flour
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free oat bran
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp orange zest
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 3 tbsp coconut nectar (any liquid sweetener should work)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup dried apricots, chopped
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup macadamia nuts, chopped

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 11 x 7 baking dish with parchment paper. 
  2. Mix ground flax seeds and water together and let sit.
  3. In a large bowl mix together quinoa, millet and oat flakes. Stir in the oat flour, bran, cinnamon and zests.
  4. Add the coconut nectar, vanilla extract, applesauce and flax/water mixture. Mix until well combined.
  5. Fold in the dried apricots, shredded coconut and macadamia nuts.
  6. Transfer the mixture into the lined baking dish, spreading it evenly and smoothing the top. Bake for 25 minutes, or until the edges brown slightly.
  7. Let cool completely before cutting. These bars will stay good for a few days in an airtight container. They also freeze well for later enjoyment.

xoxo Erin

You May Also Like:

Sweet Potato Breakfast Mash                                                          Morning Energy Juice

         Sweet Potato Breakfast Mash                                                               Morning Energy Juice

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Wellness WeekendSlightly Indulgent Tuesdays and Whole Food Fridays.

7 thoughts on “MULTI-GRAIN SUNSHINE BARS & WIAW- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free & Oil-Free

  1. Pingback: Candida diet, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  2. Pingback: PEANUT BUTTER BANANA CHOCOLATE BITES- Vegan & Grain-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

  3. Pingback: Candida diet, sugar-free,whole foods, vegan Breakfast Recipe | Ricki Heller

Leave a Reply

