SWEET POTATO BREAKFAST MASH- Vegan, Grain-Free & Refined Sugar-Free AND WIAW

Well it’s Wednesday today and since I had so much fun last week posting about what I ate (What I Ate Wednesday- WIAW), I thought I’d do it again. This week I’ve got pictures of what I ate on Monday, aka, my lazy day! I was lucky enough to have Friday AND Monday off of work. Monday, being my fourth day off, was filled with a whole lot of nothing. My schedule was so thrown off by Monday that all I did was go for a walk, watch glorified crime shows, do some school work and go spinning…actually, typing it makes me think I was more productive than I felt. Anyway…

I started my morning off with a whole lot of water, followed by a beautiful bowl of Sweet Potato Breakfast Mash (recipe below):

Sweet Potato Breakfast Mash

Sweet Potato Breakfast Mash

Naturally sweet and creamy, this breakfast mash is not only nutritious, it’s flavourful and will keep you satisfied for hours!

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup mashed sweet potato
  • 1/2 small banana, mashed
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened non-dairy milk
  • 1 tbsp hemp seeds
  • 1/2 tsp Ceylon cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger

Instructions:

  1. Mash sweet potato and banana together. 
  2. Stir in almond butter and non-dairy milk until well combined.
  3. Stir in hemp seeds and spices, grab a spoon and enjoy!

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 386 Fat: 14.2 g (1.4 g Saturated), Carbohydrates: 58 g, Fiber: 10.5 g, Sugar: 24.2 g, Protein: 10.4 g

__________________________________________________________________

After breakfast, which I didn’t get around to eating until 1030am, I went for a walk and then watched some TV shows about crime. Seriously, my two main interests are crime and nutrition. Weird, but that’s me 🙂

I wasn’t having a very hungry day, so I threw together a plate of broccoli, sprinkled some sesame seeds on top and some sliced avocado on the side and called it lunch:

Lunch

A few crime shows later, some nutrition textbook chapters read and I was snacking on celery and natural peanut butter:

Snack

Eventually I became restless and went to a spinning class. After sweating like a crazy for an hour, I was finally ready for a satisfying meal. I decided to treat myself to one of my favourite meals:

Lentil Balls and Spaghetti Squash

Lentil Balls with Spaghetti Squash! Even though it’s one of my favourite meals, I’m still tweaking the recipe…hopefully I’ll have it perfected and posted sooner rather than later.

Oh, I almost forgot! After dinner I found one of these hiding in my fridge:

Chocolate Hazelnut Truffles

A Chocolate Hazelnut Truffle (aka Homemade Ferrero Rocher)!!! And man, was it ever good. I love finding food hiding in the back of my fridge…well, only when it’s not gone bad!

Anyway, that was my day. And yes, I’ll be posting the recipe for the Homemade Ferrero Rocher very soon!

xoxo Erin

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Wellness WeekendFight Back FridayHealthy Vegan Friday5 Ingredient MondaysThank Your Body ThursdayNatural Living MondayFat TuesdayWhole Foods WednesdaysMake Your Own MondaysSimple Lives ThursdayReal Food Wednesdays and Healthy 2Day Wednesday.

9 thoughts on “SWEET POTATO BREAKFAST MASH- Vegan, Grain-Free & Refined Sugar-Free AND WIAW

  1. I made this for breakfast this morning and it was fantastic! I was in heaven! I’m an oatmeal fanatic who adds pumpkin to it and this tasted the same. Can’t wait to eat this again tomorrow!

  2. Wow your eats look amazing! I can’t wait for the recipe for the truffles! I made some christmas truffles a while back with dates, nuts, and cacao powder, then stuffed a hazelnut inside and rolled it in more crushed hazelnuts, Yummy

  3. Pingback: MULTI-GRAIN SUNSHINE BARS & WIAW- Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free & Oil-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

  4. Pingback: GRAIN-FREE BLACK FOREST PORRIDGE- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

  5. Pingback: RAW NUT-FREE PORRIDGE- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Refined Sugar-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

  6. Pingback: A Day In My Diet – Breakfast | rarasaur

Leave a Reply

