CHOCOLATE CREAM EGGS- Vegan, Grain-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

The Easter Bunny is coming soon! Do you know what that means?

Chocolate Cream Eggs

It means Chocolate Cream Eggs are flooding the stores and I want to eat every last one of them. I’ve loved Chocolate Cream Eggs for as long as I can remember. I distinctly remember when I was a child I attended an Easter egg hunt event in a local park. I had my basket filled with those brightly wrapped chocolate eggs and then I saw it: a Chocolate Cream Egg…under the heal of another chocolate crazed child. They obviously had no idea how close they were to crushing the most beautiful of all treats. So I did what any self-respecting individual would do. I reached my tiny hand under their shoe and risked having my hand stepped on in order to save (and later eat) the Chocolate Cream Egg. I am proud to say I escaped with all my fingers AND the egg, mission accomplished.

Two days later I came down with the stomach flu. It was terrible, as the stomach flu always is, but the worst part was that I developed an association between having the stomach flu and eating Chocolate Cream Eggs. Yup, for 2 years the thought of a Chocolate Cream Egg was the most nausea inducing thought to me. Yet I still wanted to eat them. It was weird, I don’t know how to explain it. I was eventually able to move on and enjoy Chocolate Cream Eggs again…until I realized what dairy and refined sugars were doing to my body.

I still have that craving for Chocolate Cream Eggs. I don’t think it will ever go away, at least not for long. And that is why I created these beauties:

Chocolate Cream Egg

Refined Sugar-Free Chocolate Cream Eggs

Crunchy dark chocolate coated “eggs” with a creamy and sweet nougat like filling. Real food with real flavour at it’s finest!

Makes 8 large “eggs”

Ingredients: 

  • 3/4 cup mashed potato
  • 1 cup Ricemellow Creme
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk
  • 3-5 drops liquid vanilla stevia
  • 5 drops yellow natural food colouring**
  • 1/4 cup cocoa butter
  • 1/2 cup cacao or cocoa powder
  • 15-20 drops liquid dark chocolate stevia

Instructions:

  1. Mix together mashed potato, Ricemellow, non-dairy milk and liquid vanilla stevia.
  2. Blend the mixture with an immersion blender until it is smooth.
  3. Remove 3 tbsp of the mixture and place in a small bowl. Stir in natural food colouring.
  4. Use two small spoons and this technique to form 8 small quenelles. Place in freezer to firm quickly.
  5. Use a larger spoon and scoop about 1 tbsp of the white cream filling. Place the frozen yellow “yolk” in the center and scoop another tbsp of white cream with a second spoon.
  6. Use the technique shown in step 4 to make cream filling into egg-like shape. Place in freezer to firm quickly.
  7. Meanwhile, melt cocoa butter and stir in cacao or cocoa powder and liquid dark chocolate stevia.
  8. Coat the frozen cream fillings with chocolate. Since the cream fillings are frozen the chocolate will harden almost immediately.
  9. Store in refrigerator, if there are any left!

**I tried to dye some of the cream filling with tumeric but it didn’t work overly well. I added up to 1/4 tsp without altering the flavour, but the yellow colour was very, very muted. Feel free to use if the bright yellow center isn’t important to you!

xoxo Erin

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 200 Fat: 9.5 g (6.5 g saturated), Carbohydrates: 13.7 g, Fiber: 1 g, Sugar: 7 g, Protein: 1 g

Nutritional information is based on serving size of 1 large egg (1/8th of recipe), using cacao powder to make the chocolate. 

You May Also Like:

Snicker Squares

Snickers Brownies- Vegan, Grain-Free and Refined Sugar- Free

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Mostly Homemade MondaysSlightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Allergy-Free WednesdaysWonderful Food Wednesday, Full Plate Thursdays, Allergy Friendly Friday, Whole Food FridaysTry a New Recipe Tuesdays and Potluck Party.

8 thoughts on “CHOCOLATE CREAM EGGS- Vegan, Grain-Free & Refined Sugar-Free

  1. Pingback: Recipe for Gluten Free, Sugar Free Slightly Indulgent Tuesday; 04/02/13

  2. Yummy! 😉
    Thanks for hopping over to the Potluck Party 😉 I was very happy to see these yummy treats there 😉 This will be a great recipe to come back to – they sounds so good!
    I’ll be dreaming of ricemellow creame now for sure ;))
    xoxo
    Ella

Leave a Reply

