CREAMY POTATOES & QUINOA OVER GREENS- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free

I’m not a photographer. I’m probably the farthest thing from a photographer. So when I started this blog I knew it was something I’d eventually have to learn. And I knew it would be a learning process. My first big lesson is related to this:

Creamy Potatoes and Quinoa over Greens

This was my dinner. My dinner that I couldn’t wait to eat. My dinner that my stomach was growling louder and louder for. My dinner that I wanted to take a picture of before I ate it.

Photography lesson # 1: Don’t take pictures when you’re hungry.

Creamy Potatoes and Quinoa over Greens Spoonful

See that spoonful? I ate it…immediately after taking this picture. Which brings me to my second learning in the world of photography:

Photography lesson # 2: Don’t eat the food before you’re done taking pictures. 

I wish identifying these lessons was the hard part, but I know it’s not. Changing my habit is what will be hard. When I’ve created a food dish all I want to do is devour it. Not devouring it is going to be challenging, to say the least. I’m also terribly impatient, so taking more than a couple photos sounds torturous to me. Maybe that’s why the saying goes “nothing worth doing is ever easy”.

Okay, enough with the “lessons”, onto the food that was so delicious I couldn’t resist eating it before I had enough photos of it. Yes, this is THAT good.

Creamy Potatoes and Quinoa over Greens

Soft potatoes and protein packed quinoa drizzled with lemony, creamy goodness. All of that on top of crunchy bok choy? YES PLEASE!!!

Serves 4

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable broth (or water)
  • 4 small russet potatoes
  • 4 cups chopped baby bok choy
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 1/2 tsp Braggs Liquid Amino
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup silken tofu
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk

Instructions:

  1. Place quinoa and vegetable broth in a medium-sized pot and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes, or until all of the water is absorbed. 
  2. Bake potatoes using method of choice and then cut them into cubes. I threw mine in the microwave for convenience.
  3. Steam bok choy until leaves turn bright green.
  4. Blend together tahini, Braggs, lemon juice, tofu and non-dairy milk until smooth. I used my Magic Bullet.
  5. In a large bowl mix together cooked quinoa and cubed baked potatoes. Drizzle dressing over top and mix until well coated.
  6. Divide bok choy among serving plates and top with the potato quinoa mixture.
  7. Grab a fork and enjoy!

xoxo Erin

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 369, Fat: 7.6 g (0.7 g saturated), Carbohydrates: 64.4 g, Fiber: 6.8 g, Sugar: 4.9 g, Protein: 14.3 g

Nutritional information is based on serving size of 1/4 of recipe. Nutritional information was calculated using this.

You May Also Like:

Shepherds Pie                                           Brussel Sprouts with Deconstructed Hummus 

     Shepherds Pie                                                            Brussel Sprouts with Deconstructed Hummus

UPDATE! This recipe has been shared at Tasty Traditions, Wellness Weekend and Meatless Mondays.

One thought on “CREAMY POTATOES & QUINOA OVER GREENS- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free

  1. Pingback: LEMON BROCCOLI OATMEAL- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

Leave a Reply

