Sweet & Sour Swiss Chard- Oil-Free

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that I love vegetables. I love all vegetables. I especially love green vegetables. Not only are they full of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and phytonutrients, they also taste great!

I didn’t grow up eating all vegetables though. Some vegetables I only discovered a few years ago. Swiss chard is one of them. I remember when I first made it for myself, I had no idea what I was doing! I just threw some stuff into a pan, cooked it and ate it. Luckily I liked what I threw into the pan. And now you can too…

Sweet & Sour Swiss Chard

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch red Swiss chard
  • 1 small sweet onion, diced
  • 2-3 tbsp raisins
  • 2-3 tbsp carrot juice (such as:¬†http://bolthouse.com/product/100carrot)
  • splash of lemon juice or apple cider vinegar

Instructions:

  1. Wash Swiss chard well and separate the greens from the red steam.
  2. Chop the red stems into small pieces.
  3. Chop the Swiss chard greens into bit size pieces.
  4. Add diced onion, chopped red stems, raisins and carrot juice to a frying pan.
  5. Cook over medium high until onions are translucent, adding more carrot juice as needed to prevent ingredients from sticking to bottom of pan.
  6. Lower heat to medium low and add the Swiss chard greens.
  7. Cook until all greens are wilted.
  8. Add splash of lemon juice or apple cider vinegar and enjoy!

It’s that simple! Take a look:

xoxo Erin

4 thoughts on “Sweet & Sour Swiss Chard- Oil-Free

  1. Pingback: FRESH BEAN SPROUT STIR-FRY- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

  2. Pingback: ULTRA ALKALINE SALAD- Vegan, Gluten-Free & Oil-Free | Sift, Stir & Savour

Leave a Reply

